Faith Part 2

 

Faith.

It’s a concept I’ve felt very strongly about understanding. Something, I believe, in order  to know God even deeper; I must first understand the faith I have in Him.

I was doing a devotional and I came across this:

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

Well, I am definitely weak in my faith. I wouldn’t have said that or believed that a few years ago. I would have said I had tons of faith. Though the closer I draw to Christ the more I realize my life does not reflect someone with a strong faith.

Recently I have been walking a lot. Like 3 to 5 miles a day. (remember I hate exercise) It’s been so thrilling to see the transformation this simple act has had on me, my body, and my family. I hadn’t realized until I was daily walking with Christ that my lack of health and caring for my body was disobedience to Him, but through my circumstances (my on the go child) and His word (1 Corinthians 10:31) God showed me how I could bless my family, get healthy, and find rest.

One thing I love about my walks is that it gives me time to pray. God showed me I needed to clean up my temple of God, and when I did it He offered me another way to serve Him. (which we all know is a good since I’m a doer)

It’s simple, but it’s so hard.

We need to have faith in the One that has been so faithful to us. But we have to constantly engage Him, pay attention to our circumstances, and seek Godly counsel in order to know the will of God.

Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour. Resist him, firm (some translations say diligent) in your faith, knowing that the same kinds of suffering are being experienced by your brotherhood throughout the world. 1 Peter 5:8-9

Faith requires action, and action is us making adjustments and obeying.* No matter what our life circumstances as believers we need to have faith in the One that created us, raised Himself from the dead, and dwells in our souls. For without faith we cannot please God, and Satan will use the lack of faith to kill, steal, and destroy.

So I’ll leave you with 1 Thessalonians 5:8 

But since we belong to the day, let us be sober, having put on the breastplate of faith and love, and for a helmet the hope of salvation. 

*concept comes from the study by Henry Blackaby Experiencing God

 

 

Leave a Reply

