Faith Part 1

As I began to blog today I realized that I need to give some background on why the scriptures God has given to me recently pertain to what I am discussing about faith.

In 2013 I miscarried.

It happened five days after I found out I was pregnant, and I was devastated. For people that have never miscarried they might think that only being a little over a month along it should be easy to get over, but it wasn’t/isn’t. I had a dream, a plan, and in those moments of miscarrying my child all of that was gone. I was devastated.

I dropped into a deep depression. I began to live a life that the enemy was guiding. Doing things that were not typical of my character, and hurting more people than I could have ever imagined. In just a few short months I had single handedly turned my life on it’s head.

Then God showed me grace beyond any grace I ever deserved, and I became pregnant again. The little firecracker that was born has been a blessing every day of her life. My pregnancy gave me and my husband a chance to reconnect, and find joy in preparing for our new addition.

After she was born I tried to find my place in everything else, except with the Lord. I started a business and worked tirelessly at that and tried being a wife, mom, and homemaker. Nothing bringing the peace I desperately wanted, and when I looked at where I was I was nowhere.

My house was a mess, I hadn’t slept in days, and my family was suffering. Then God blessed me again. I was pregnant for a third time. I knew something had to give.

I quit my business.

When I did God started showing me joy in the mundane. How to make margin for Him (check out Priscilla Shirer’s book Breathe), and by doing so that would create space for my life. I started finding the peace that passes all understanding.

I was hooked.

I began devouring anything I could get my hands on that would direct me to learn more about this God I had accepted 18 year before. That’s when my church began Experiencing God. I started it early, because our second daughter would be entering the world around the time of my church starting the study.

It took me WAY more than 12 weeks to finish, and I didn’t really get serious about the content until around week 5 of the study. It pointed me to where I needed to look all along.

The Bible.

Since then I have been experiencing God like never before. July marks 18 year since I became a believer, and I know my Lord and Savior deeper than I could have ever imagined. I’ve examined my relationship with Him, asked hard questions about my walk, and adjusted my life to reflect my faith in Him.

That’s how I began to trying to understand faith. My faith, my faith in God, God’s faithfulness, etc.

Faith Part 2 is just the tip of the iceberg of the things that God has been showing me about faith.

 

 

Leave a Reply

