Gotta Have Faith

I hate exercising.

Exercise is what I do with my freedoms, not my body.

However, the summer of 2015 we were on our annual trip to the PNW and we did a strenuous hike up Mt. Rainier. It was gratifying, beautiful, and exhausting. Since then any physical exercise has been compared to that hike, and today I had walked over 4 miles before noon.

I was exhausted by the end of our walk, but each of the steps I took I repeated this is for you, this is for your family, this is for y’alls future. You took down Mt. Rainier. You can walk up this small hill. I felt mentally strong like never before.

It reminds me of my current walk with God.

I hated studying God’s word.

Studying is what I did in college, not with my relationship with God.

However, the fall of 2016 changed my life. I began the study Experiencing God. After I finished the first round I felt called to do another. I also felt a closeness to God that in 18 year of being a believer I have never felt. What I love about this study is it doesn’t give me 10 ways to get closer to God. It uses the Bible to draw me closer to God.

I am now studying my Bible daily for extended periods of time. Recently, I have been struggling with the direction I thought God was taking, but seemed to be changing. Then yesterday during my study time God gave me Hebrews 11:6.

And without faith it is impossible to please Him. For whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.

No matter what I feel God is calling me to if I don’t have faith in Him it is IMPOSSIBLE for me to please Him. I have to have faith that he will fulfill His promises to me as I seek Him.

 

4 thoughts on “Gotta Have Faith

Leave a Reply

