Obey

I tend to get bored easily. I don’t believe it’s an ADHD thing, or that it’s necessarily a negative trait. I just enjoy to change direction, pace, or attention while working on something.

It’s how God created me.

For example, when I clean I start washing dishes in scalding hot water, because I know that I’ll wash a few things then go tidy the living room to return back in 15 min to finish the rest of the dishes. I tend to accomplish a lot of things in a short time because things are new and exciting. (If house work can even be called exciting)

I literally do this in every facet of my life.

I think it bothers some people and it can come across as flighty, however it works for me. Recently I’ve really been able to see God using this trait for His glory.

A little over a month ago I stopped blogging regularly. Not because I wanted to, or because I stopped engaging in my Experiencing God study.

No, I simply just stopped blogging. I was spending my 15 minutes in other areas of my life.

My focus needed to be elsewhere so I could fully experience God.

This whole following Christ thing is the hardest simple thing I’ve ever had to do. God outlines what we are to do so simply. There is no grey area. But through following Him I am coming to understand my need for Him as my Savior.

I desperately want to reach people for Christ. I want to do some big gesture. However, God wants me to allow Him to do the work through me. He uses my need for new and exciting to remind me I need Him. He shows me how He can use me. I get all excited about the possibilities for Him to remind me that my life’s goal should be to engage Him in a love relationship.

I’m amazed by how intimately He knows me.

My obedience to engage him in the love relationship can look like chaos to an onlooker, but because He created me He knows exactly how to bring me closer to Him. The following verse has been one that has helped define my #oneword for the year, obey/obedience. It’s also a memory verse for Experiencing God.

“Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to Him.” John 14:21

What are ways you are obeying Him today? How is God showing himself to you?

Leave a Reply

