Is He Talking to Me?

This has probably been one of the most gut wrenching posts for me to do. Not because I don’t believe what I am about to write, but because it’s so far from what our current culture believes.

Nevertheless even among the rulers many believed in Him, but because of the Pharisees they did not confess Him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue; for they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God. John 12:42-43

So…

I’m currently reading through the book of John for lent along with doing/leading an Experiencing God study with an awesome group of women. During those study times while going through Unit 1 Day 5 and reading in John God revealed what He wants to do in my life.

Day 5 is called God Works Through His Servants Part 2. That’s relevant to the next part of this post, because I’m living the Experiencing God life.

Sunday in the bulletin there was a trip announced that I desperately want to go on.

Just for a little background I have literally tried to go on 4 other trips 3 of them being to this same place, and doors closed every time. It hasn’t been God’s will for me to go. No matter how desperately I wanted to go.

Well I want to go on this trip. So I started praying. He’s been showing me He in fact wants me to go. My first reaction is…

“To this trip or just on this trip sometime down the road?”

Next reaction is…

“He’s really telling me that He wants me to go!”

“Wait is this His will?!”

Then came Tuesday when I realized I needed to look back on what God had been saying to me through John. During that reflection time He was clearly showing me that He is doing a work, and I need to be there. Then I opened up my Experiencing God book for even more affirmation to step out.

First thing I circle in Experiencing God, “God reveals what He is about to do. That revelation becomes an invitation to join Him.” God had been revealing His will for me, and the trip. Now here I am reading that revelation is in fact the invitation.

Through the study and my study in John God has been showing me He does amazing things through prayer. I could do a whole other post on this, and probably will.

God wants to do amazing things through me and you, but we have to be listening, willing, and asking for His will.

What is God wanting to do through your life?

Leave a Reply

