Decision Fatigue

A few weeks ago I read about decision fatigue. At first I was extremely interested in this “new” phenomenon. It’s something that researchers have recently been studying. Ultimately it’s the worsening of ones decisions after having to make multiple decisions.

Maybe I struggle with decision fatigue. I mean I am a wife, mom, and woman making a thousand decisions a day. (sometimes I actually feel like it might be a thousand)

Then I felt convicted. As a believer why would I be experiencing decision fatigue? I’m suppose align my life to God’s word. Growing up we would joke that Jesus/God/Holy Spirit is always the answer.

But He really is.

Seriously over the last few weeks I have been contemplating this, and then I did Unit 1 Day 3 of Experiencing God. I was reading 1 Kings 18:2:

And Elijah came to the people, and said, “How long will you falter between two opinions? If the Lord is God, follow Him; if Baal, follow him.” But the people answered him not a word. 

The Israelites were struggling with decision fatigue.

That’s not what is says in the Bible, but they were in fact having a decline in decision making. God had/has done so much for His people, and here they were worshiping another God.

Makes me take a long hard look at my life. Day 3 is called Learning to Be a Servant of God. In light of me reading about decision fatigue, and then looking at the truth in the study I come to learn that every decision I made should be in alignment with what God says. In order for me to be a servant of God.

I relate to God, respond to Him, and adjust my life to Him so that from my relationship with Him, He does what he WANTS to do through my life.*

When I do those things there is no decision fatigue.

*reworded from Experiencing God. changed you to I

 

Leave a Reply

