Be like Jesus

The Bible is alive, and always leading us to do God’s will. Sometimes I feel like I use the Bible as the history book of Jesus, but it’s definitely so much more.

As I was doing day two of Experiencing God, God was burdening my heart with His son.

Specifically His son in relation to His will.

Sometimes when God reveals something to me I kinda scoff (apparently I do that a lot), and think SURELY it isn’t that easy. What God might be asking us to do is probably not easy. The concept, on the other hand, is normally very simple.

While doing Experiencing God Day 2 the second time around God told me. Be like Jesus.

When I want to know God’s will. Be like Jesus. When I want to help someone get through a hard time. Be like Jesus. When I see someone struggling. Be like Jesus. When I come to a hard situation in my life. Be like Jesus.

Being like Jesus is DEFINITELY not easy, and honestly not attainable. However, I know who Jesus is, I know where to find stories of His life, and every day I can strive to be like Jesus.

And Jesus sought His Father’s will.

“My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too am working. I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the son also does. For the Father loves the Son and sows him all he does. Yes, to your amazement he will show him even greater things than these.” John 5:17, 19-20

As I seek God’s will I am going to be like Jesus.

I am also currently doing a 40 day lent reading challenge through the book of John. It’s really awesome because it’s literally the ministry of Jesus. Today I read about the adulteress. In John 8 there is an account of a woman that was brought before Jesus for him to condemn her.

You have to read the story, but ultimately Jesus was like if any of you are free of sin then please go ahead and condemn her. In my Bible there are these little side notes that help the reader better understand the scripture. This one note is a Character Profile of the Adulteress. In it is a life lesson that I feel like I HAVE to share, because it’s a way I am to  be like Jesus.

Life Lesson: Your job is not to condemn sinners but to point them to Jesus.*

I am definitely challenged by this, and excited to know that I have a perfect example.

So here I am striving every day to

BE LIKE JESUS.

*My Bible is the Study Bible for Women NKJV Edition published by Holman Bible Publishing

2 thoughts on “Be like Jesus

  1. britm15 says:

    Thoughts…
    1) I am really enjoying your blog!!
    2) Note: I am not a theologian, and I believe that the Holy Spirit reveals things to saved people through the Bible.
    3) Condemnation is a sentence… Kings, judges etc “condemn” people to a sentence after an action. The Bible says the wages of sin is death. That is all sin… not sin we pick and deem horrendous enough for death. Brittany, you were very right!! We aren’t supposed to condemn. We are suppose to lead them the Jesus. I can’t see your heart… I can’t see if you have accepted Christ as your personal Savior. By your fruits I can assume. So, all I am to do is to direct them to Jesus. One of two things will happen… either they are saved and the Holy Spirit will use it to convict or they are lost and the Holy Spirit will show them their need for a Savior. Whether or not they accept is on them and God will judge them accordingly.

Leave a Reply

