Samaritan Woman

*If you have never read the story of the Samaritan woman you can find it in John 4. It’s a wonderful example of how Jesus meets us where we are at, and I highly suggest you read it.

 

As I near the first day of leading the Experiencing God study I become nervous. I keep playing in my mind the fact that I need to be aware of what God is saying to me. I don’t want what I say/post/blog to mislead, upset, or cause someone to stumble.

I’ve pretty much been in constant prayer through out each day that when I post it be something that will bring someone closer to God. I’m so much more aware of my words.

I am currently doing a #40daychallenge for lent put together by @mafeinberg. I am reading through the book of John, and in today’s reading I was presented with the Samaritan woman. I’ve read this story many times, and have always enjoyed how Jesus interacts with her.

Today was different though.

Today was about details before and after the story.

At the beginning of the story in John 4:4 it states,

But He needed to go through Samaria.

It doesn’t state he had to, wanted to, or was forced to. He needed to. Jesus’ ministry wasn’t about what he wanted or needed, but what God was calling him to do. It’s a reminder to me that I am called to walk through this study with other women.

On the back end of the story the woman is so excited about what Jesus has said to her that she runs to tell everyone else in Samaria. I love how they respond.

So when the Samaritans had come to Him, they urged Him to stay with them; and He stayed there two days. And many more believed because of His own word. Then they said to the woman, “Now we believe, not because of what you said, for we ourselves have heard Him and we know that this is indeed the Christ, the Savior the world”. John 4:40-42

It’s so humbling to me to know that I am not actually the one doing anything to bring people closer to God. He is doing all the work. I am a woman changed by Jesus wanting to tell the world.

I pray through this study Jesus will speak to you, change you, and draw you closer to Him.

Leave a Reply

