Pride

We purchased our Experiencing God books at church one Sunday, and when my husband handed me mine I looked at it and thought,

“THIS IS IT?!”

I immediately thought about the church quarterly that we received when I was in middle school. The cover of the book was so outdated to me. It annoyed me. Why would our church be doing this study when it was so dated?

Luckily, God is a heart changer.

We were each born with sin. It’s part of who we are. God didn’t intend it to be that way, but with the fall of Adam and Eve we each struggle with sin.

My original sin is pride.

Surely He scorns the scornful, but gives grace to the humble. Proverbs 3:34

My pride was shaping me into a scornful person. I didn’t know it, I didn’t care, and I believed it was just who I was. Pride has been seeping into every aspect of my life, and causing the ripple effect for other sins.

Honestly, until today I didn’t even see how much it was shaping so many parts of my life.

It was even shaping how I perceived a study that would help completely chang my life. 

Through Experiencing God I’ve learned how to actually hear from God, and understand Him, His purposes, and His ways.

I have so much more to share about what I learned through this study (and what I look forward to learning another time through), and hope as you read this you will feel an excitement to learn how you can Experience God.

Because He wants you to.

Leave a Reply

