The Word

Disclaimer: I LOVE reading christian help books (you should see my bookshelf), and highly recommend them to help encourage you in many different areas of your life.

Yesterday I was standing in the marriage resource section of a christian book store reading covers and skimming chapters; trying to decide what book I would purchase to strengthen my marriage. My husband and I have not been seeing eye-to-eye on a certain marital topic. He needs one thing and I need another, and we are selfishly struggling to come to some kind of middle ground.

So there I stood with like 5 books all on the same topic. None of them bringing me the much needed peace I desired.

And that’s not even why I was there!

I had gone to purchase some Experiencing God material to assist me in leading an online women’s group that is fast approaching. Each book sounded the same, and a lot of the information I had previous learned. As I stood there, frustrated, not able to find a book that would suite my current situation.

Then the words I AM enough rippled through my mind. I knew the Holy Spirit was helping me recall something.

God calls himself I AM!

God said to Moses, “I am who I am.” And he said “Say this to the people of Israel: “I am has sent me to you.” Exodus 3:14

There sitting in the bookstore I was experiencing God. He was telling me I didn’t need a $14.99 paperback book to help my relationship. I have a priceless book at home (and on my phone) as a reference for my marital disagreement.

I place all the books with the psychologist, experts, and marital counselors names back on the shelf, and I felt free. I felt like I knew without a doubt that when I got home I would have a place to go to encourage both my husband and I. I knew God wanted the best from me. I knew that I would only spend $9, and be able to please my husband with staying within our budget.

I truly believe this scenario would have played out much differently just a few months ago. However, in those few months I did a study that changed my life. One that focused on how I experienced the Word.

Not just the Bible. God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God…And the Word became flesh (Jesus) and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.  John 1:1;14

I had the Bible to read when I got home. Which gave me the privilege to experience the Word.

 

 

Leave a Reply

